Journey to Age 24

Abisola Adeniji - AA
3 min readMar 17, 2022

--

I have thought about this a million times, every time, I am posed with the exact same question - do I really want to do this? Create another vulnerable post… Well, I`m learning that most of my posts have always been like this and will probably continue to be so. This is mainly because I don’t know how to be less myself. Funny right?

A few days before my birthday, I felt overwhelmed and questioned all I achieved in Chapter 23. To make sense of all I was feeling, I turned to my recipe, writing… And those musings lead us here, you reading this and I sharing my journey to age 24…

I started Chapter 23 with a banging, sweet photoshoot… It was everything, I was excited, happy, In fact, I had used up some of my savings to make this happen because I felt like I had to do this for myself. Oh, and by the way, it was my first ever photo shoot. Here are some of the cute pictures.

Fun fact, my friends are tired of seeing this pictures. If you haven`t seen any of the pictures, well…

Well back to my initial question, What did I do in Age 23…

I lived…

23 was that age I pursued every dream I had. From opening a book club to volunteering for different organizations, I went for any idea that came to mind and with the help of God, I saw most of these ideas come to life.

I did me…

I honed various skills that may or not have been relevant to my career.

My philosophy was, “If it makes you happy, do it without regrets, and when you look back at those moments, be grateful that you at least did what made you happy”.

Did it always work out well? Nope!!! Nope!!! Nope!!!. In fact, Sometimes it ended in premium tears, but God comforted me. I was also mostly prepared for unfavorable outcomes.

I evolved…

I became the ideator and executioner of everything I was passionate about. The downside?, To everything I wasn’t passionate about I just ignored it. I gave my 100% to what makes me happy and 0% to everything that uninterested me to the detriment of my commitment.

I struggled…

I worked hard but at the same time, became so lazy I didn’t recognize myself or even understand the root cause of my emotions. I was your go-to guy but not your regular person in other areas.

I learned the hard way…

Because I lived with my feelings, I made unnecessary mistakes that could have been avoided if only I had allowed God to lead me… Doing what makes me happy sounded cool but at the end of the day, it may not have been what necessarily was the best decision for me.

However…

It was a year of purpose, I discovered and I’m still discovering what I want out of life, It was a year of another dimension of me, it was a year of responsibilities and diversification in many areas, it was a year of love.

Now to Chapter 24…

As I scrolled through Instagram, exactly 5 days to my birthday and 29 minutes late to work and an important presentation. I saw a post by Pastor Sam Adeyemi.

“Your brain is a gift from God to figure things out but it is too small to figure everything out”. Proverbs 3:5–6 MSG

I thought to myself Abisola, what do you want? And the innermost voice in me answered peace and contentment.

And that’s everything Age 24 is all about… Happy birthday once again to me!

Cheers to my year of living, sharing in peace and contentment…

We still meet here once a month, however, you can follow me on LinkedIn and Instagram for regular updates.

--

--

Abisola Adeniji - AA

Living and Sharing my experience | A Coded Analyst | Sold out to helping people become their best version